Tags

, , ,

John and I are very lucky in that we often get to eat lunch at home.  He usually works from home, and I have a break in-between jobs so I can drive home and eat something homemade.  I like to make sandwich fillings at the start of the week so we have a quick, easy-to-assemble lunch everyday at anytime.  In the past I’ve made seitan reubens, tofu “egg” salad, and of course, the riblet.  This week I tried something new.  I’ve been trying to incorporate more natural sources of B and zinc into our diets (nutrients that many vegetarians and vegans lack) and I learned that sunflower seeds are greats sources of B vitamins, vitamin E, zinc…the list goes on and on.  I modified a recipe for a “tuna” salad I found at Whole Foods, and the result was so fantastically tuna-esque, my cat Eliot tried to take a nibble!

This is Eliot. He’s 6 feet long.
Ingredients:
  • 1 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 cup raw almonds
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped celery
  • 1/3 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped cornichons (of note, auto-correct wants this to say “unicorns”)
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped red onion
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh dill
  • 2 tablespoons agave nectar
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup soy mayonnaise
  • 2 teaspoons kelp granules
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper or to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
Method:

Put sunflower seeds and almonds into a large bowl, cover with water, lay a tea towel on top, and soak overnight.

Drain the nuts and seeds, pulse in a food processor until very finely chopped, scraping down the sides of the bowl as you go (I have a small food processor, so I did this in batches). Transfer to a large bowl and stir in all the other ingredients. Serve immediately, or cover and chill until ready to serve.

Good in a sandwich, in a pita, or on top of arugula with some tomatoes, a dash of champagne vinegar, and extra red onion!
