Tags

, , , , ,

This weekend was a busy one. I had 50 midterms to grade, a short movie to write for the National Film Challenge, and a Patriots game to tailgate. Sometime in the future I’ll share my thoughts on vegan tailgating, but since I just finished grading, I’ll give you a quick recipe for a treat John and I devoured tonight.
I hate wasting food, and a recent article I read in Whole Living magazine cited that Americans make an average of about 1.28 pounds of daily food waste, equal to 14 percent of the family’s food purchases.  However, when life is busy, fruits and veggies can go past their prime without you realizing it.  How many times have you looked over at the fruit bin and thought, “I’ll have a banana tomorrow; those need to get eaten.” A few days later, you have some funky bananas.

Don’t despair, little naner!  You can become a delicious treat!  As long as the banana isn’t so funky it’s rotten (so long as it’s just overripe) you can freeze it.  Overripe bananas have a high sugar content, making them perfect in a cold application (as cold numbs your ability to taste sweetness). And so, tonight we made:

Frozen Naner Delight!

2-3 overripe bananas, frozen (I used two massive naners)
1/2 cup of almond or soy milk
1/2 cup peanut butter (we like a lot of peanut butter, you can use less if you like)
Roasted peanuts and chocolate sauce for toppings

Put the bananas and the almond milk in the blender and pulse on ice crush setting until bananas are broken up and creamy. Add the peanut butter and blend on low until mixed. Pour or scoop into glasses and garnish with peanuts and chocolate syrup. Serves two super busy vegans craving a sweet treat.

