Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m back!  I know I haven’t posted in a while–I have been working on a big recording project for work (it involves ProTools, Autotune, and a song about electronic addiction).  Since it’s Thanksgiving week and there is no school, I’m hoping to get caught up as I have a backlog of photos of delicious things, plus a series on the making of my Halloween costume, that I really would like to share with you.

I made a series of bad decisions this past week that lead to three dozen delicious donuts sitting on my kitchen table last night.

  • Bad decision #1: I scheduled a haircut right after work, with little time to get something to eat.
  • Bad decision #2: I tried to get a burrito at Chipotle at peak lunch time. The line was all the way through the parking lot.
  • Bad decision #3: I decided to try the mall food court instead. (Note: Spike’s Hot Dogs had the only vegan option, whut?)
  • Bad decision #4: On my way to the food court, I walked by Sur La Table on an empty stomach and impulse bought a doughnut pan.

As I am a New Englander, since fall began I’ve been bombarded by images from Dunkin’ Donuts of bright orange and yellow pumpkin flavored sugar bombs and gosh darn it, I wanted one!  But their donuts are made with murdereggs.  Plus, lots of other scary things.  They actually list their ingredients online–look at all this unpronounceable crap!

INGREDIENTS: Donut: Enriched Unbleached Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Enzyme, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Palm Oil, Sugar, Whey (a milk derivative), Water, Soybean Oil, Egg Yolks, Contains less than 2% of the following: Leavening (Baking Soda, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Aluminum Phosphate), Pumpkin, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Defatted Soy Flour, Cinnamon, Salt, Spices, Sodium Caseinate (a milk derivative), Enzyme Modified Egg Yolks, Soy Lecithin, Skim Milk, Konjac Flour, Yellow 6, Caramel Color, Carrageenan; Glaze: Sugar, Water, Maltodextrin, Contains 2% or less of: Propylene Glycol, Mono and Diglycerides (Emulsifier), Cellulose Gum, Agar, Citric Acid, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Vanillin (an Artificial Flavor).

[What is Konjac Flour anyway?  How can there be a flour I’ve never heard of?  I watch the Food Network!]

So, wanting a donut without all the garbage (just some of it), I veganized it.  Here’s my recipe for vegan frosted pumpkin donuts:

(That's what I was going for.)

Dry Team:

1.25 cups Cake Flour (you can probably use AP if you don’t have cake flour)

1/2 cup sugar

1.5 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp. ground cloves

1/4 tsp. salt

Wet Team:

1/2 cup of canned pureed pumpkin

1.5 tsp. egg replacer prepared with 2 tbsp. warm water in a small bowl

1/3 cup non-dairy milk (I used vanilla almond milk)

1/2 tsp. apple cider vinegar

4 tbsp. Earth Balance, melted

1. Preheat oven to 350, spray doughnut pan with cooking spray.

2.  Combine all the dry ingredients.

3. Combine all the wet ingredients.

4. Combine dry and wet teams together.  Texture should be pourable but just barely.  If too runny, add more flour.  Pour into the pan, filling each mold completely and taking care to wipe batter off the middle where the hole will be. Bake for 12 minutes, then allow to cool on a wire rack or cookie sheet while you assemble the frosting.

Easy Donut Frosting:

2 cups confectioners sugar (if you can’t find vegan confectioners sugar, pulse vegan sugar in a food processor until fine)

2 tbsp non-dairy milk

1 tsp vanilla

Beat all ingredients until smooth.  You can play with the texture by adding more sugar or milk if you like a thicker frosting or more icing-like frosting.

I used a rubber spatula to frost the tops, but drizzling with a spoon would probably work well too.  I found some fun sprinkles at Sur La Table and those were added to up the festive factor.
I also made an Apple Cider Donut variation, if you’re interested.  The instructions are basically the same, just replace the pumpkin puree with 1 and a half cups of apple cider that’s been boiled down to about 1/3 a cup (took me about 20 minutes on high heat).  I rolled them around in sugar and cinnamon while they were still a little warm (but not hot–the sugar will just melt).

Let's go down to the old mill and get some cider!

What I loved the most about making these donuts with the pan was how simple it was.  If you can bake a cookie, you can bake a donut.  They don’t have the spongy porous texture of the fried variety, but they deliver the sugar coma that you crave.

Tomorrow I’m going to try and live blog my Thanksgiving prep!  Since John and I are going to our parents’ houses in Rhode Island and Connecticut for Thanksgiving, and we are the only vegans, we’re making a cooler of food and hitting the road.  Have Tofurky, will travel.  Tune in tomorrow to watch me lose my damned mind in real time!

